A good [sweet] beginners cognac/brandy or even cordial

For all questions and issues concerning the world of Cognac. Feel free to ask questions!

A good [sweet] beginners cognac/brandy or even cordial

Postby Rhapsody » Sun Feb 17, 2013 12:19 am

Hello:

First thanks for taking the time to read my message.

I'm relatively new to the realm of cognacs/brandies.

What would you recommend to be the sweet/er/est version of Cognacs and Brandy?

I've not really come up with great results online.

I've tried several VS entry level makes, but nothing so far seems to be quite as sweet as I would like.

I was just looking at some of the Francois Peyrot line, but wasn't sure as to their sweetness as well.

Thanks in advance!
Rhapsody
VS-Cognac
VS-Cognac

Re: A good [sweet] beginners cognac/brandy or even cordial

Postby numen » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:46 am

Hi Rhapsody, and welcome aboard!

By and large, Spanish brandies have seemed tr sweetest well-made brandies that I've had. There are some very sweet cognacs on the market, but many are so sweet because of added sugar. It may be worth a shot to go for a Spanish brandy (cardenal Mendoza was particularly approachable).
numen
VSOP-Cognac
VSOP-Cognac

Postby Rhapsody » Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:47 am

Thank you for the quick reply!
Is it possible to find good ones that are sweet, but without loads of added sugar added?

Thanks again!
Rhapsody
VS-Cognac
VS-Cognac

Postby numen » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:47 pm

There are some lines that are sweeter than others -- and it depends, too, whether you'd like dark/heavy+sweet, or more light/floral+sweet. VS may generally be a bit disappointing, but the VSOP range may be more to your liking for brandy style with a little sweetness. Prunier is generally supposed to be a bit sweeter than some of the other producers. For more sherry-level sweetness, Brandy de Jerez is really tough to beat. Marie Duffau armagnac was also relatively sweet to me, but more caramelly, and still heavier than the cognacs.
numen